Nan’s zucchini slice

A few years ago my mum made me this recipe book, which is full of all my favourite recipes that I grew up on.  I have also added to this book, but sadly, since owning my Thermomix I haven’t used it.  So I pulled it down from the cupboard, dusted it off and have started to convert the recipes.  This is the first recipe I have converted, my Nan’s zucchini slice.

IMG_4921

You’ll need:

5 eggs (preferably free range)
1 onion, peeled and chopped in half
1 carrot, chopped roughly
2-3 zucchini’s (about 370g), chopped roughly
3 rashes of bacon (nitrate free if you prefer), diced
90g olive, macadamia or coconut oil (we like olive in this recipe)
150g block cheddar cheese, roughly chopped
150g SR flour, or plain flour with 2 tsp of baking powder. You could use a GF flour, or spelt. All would work well.

Here’s what you do:-

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.  Line a lamington tin with baking paper.

Put cheese in tmx bowl and chop on speed 5 for 5 seconds, or until it is well chopped.  Set aside.

Put onion in tmx bowl and chop on spd 7, 3 seconds.

Add zucchinis and carrots, chop spd 5, 3 seconds.

Add all other ingredients into the bowl (including the cheese) and mix on reverse for 30 seconds, spd 2, or until well combined.

Tip into prepared tin and cook for about 40 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted in the top.

Leave a Reply

